Personal Produce Challenge (PPC)

22 05 2011

I was super frustrated to not participate in the C25K challenge because I’d signed up for a partner through another blog and we were suppose to be emailing each other supportive things all week. Although I could encourage her, it felt lame to not be participating. I stopped feeling sorry for myself, and realized that even though I couldn’t participate just yet, I still have complete control over what goes into my body. This realization came as I was walking into Costco so… that was dangerous.

I’d gotten into the habit of buying bags of snap peas and cherry tomatoes at Costco each week or so and keeping containers of them with me all the time to snack on. It was pretty easy to do, and I was all excited by the produce explosion that happens in the spring. I bought grapes, tomatoes, strawberries, snap peas, and spinach (all in Costco-sized containers) with the intent to eat it all before it went bad. I didn’t completely succeed (should have eaten the strawberries all at the beginning, I forgot how quickly they go bad) but I ate everything else! It was fun to plan every meal and include fruit salad or veggies. I haven’t re-bought the same amount of produce, but I’m still making an effort to get in several servings each day. It doesn’t always happen, but I can feel a difference when I do and I like it.

This probably doesn’t sound like that big of a deal so some, but as a person who would regularly buy produce just to have it go bad and then not buy much for a long time, fearing it would go bad before I ate it, this is a big change.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

