Disguised Blessing?

22 05 2011

Here is post #3, (only a few weeks old) of posts that have been sitting in draft form and I never finished for various reasons, but still feel they are important to share.

I was suppose to start a Couch to 5K program this week (C25K) but the day I planned to go for my first run, I fell off ONE stair and seriously twisted my foot. It was right at the beginning of a packed work day, so I hobbled around and elevated it as I could (which it wasn’t really convenient) and didn’t get ice on it until 9 or so hours later. I’m 100% sure this is related to the super intense pain when I actually did elevate and ice. I couldn’t put weight on it AT ALL and even found myself crawling around my apartment because even hopping caused so much jostling to the injured foot it hurt. I was a little worried those first 24 hours, but it got a lot better within a week.

This small injury did provide me with some self reflection, however. As I was planning each move, doing as many tasks as efficiently as possible, I realized how many things I procrastinate thinking I’ll come back to it later. Like the sweater hanging from my shower rod (to eliminate wrinkles) had been there a couple days… to bigger things, such as writing on this blog. I really wanted this blog to be a chronicle of my life, of which a large part is my weightloss/healthiness journey. I don’t mean to reduce my entire being to my desire to lose weight, but as I struggle to figure out what kind of lifestyle changes are sustainable and make a positive difference, all the experiences in the rest of my life are related.

To my mom: go for it, comment away if you want. I was worried before about being “outed” or discovered on the internet because I wasn’t ready to share information about being overweight with the world. I’ve realized now that this is just a part of who I am, and something I am ok with people knowing. It’s not exactly a surprise if you’ve met me in person, and I would rather have the support than hide behind a totally anonymous blog.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

