Apparently I like running

19 09 2010
yay for me

Post-run glow!

I’ve been talking about running for a few years now.  I’ve even tried a few times to make myself into a “runner.”

After the Dash last week, I realized that running a couple miles now and then on a treadmill isn’t all I want from running.  After my workout Wednesday, I spontaneously ran to the nearby park and back (estimate – 1 mile).  It felt great, and fairly easy.  So this Friday, I did the same thing!  (even though my workout was brutal – major circuits including 100 pushups, 100 kettelbell swings, tire jumping, mountain climbers and my first go at boxing).  Somehow, I had some ‘juice’ left and took off (even though it was drizzling.)

I made sure to check the clock this time before leaving the gym, I was curious. And curiosity paid off! It took me less than 14 minutes to run to the park and back!  I wonder if when on the treadmill, I spend too much energy watching time, thinking about intervals, not pushing myself for fear of “wasting” energy that I’ve over analyzed simple running. (I’m actually pretty sure that’s the case. I’ve very good at over analyzing).

A friend gave me the book Running for Mortals and although I’ve just started it, I already appreciate that bonafide runners (that is, those who run marathons, are capable of running several miles without stopping) consider what I do (that is, running, walking, jogging, walking some more) as running.  I don’t know if I’ll ever be at that level, but I know that running feels good (most of the time) and it’s easy.  So much easier this time around.  Why? I’m not sure.  Probably due to my mindset.  Instead of thinking it was going to hurt, being preoccupied with every ache and pain afterwards, I just run.

I’ve asked for these kick ass shoes for my birthday (if they don’t come, I’ll actually be able to use my grown-up income to buy them!) I know several people who wear these and swear by them.  Barefoot running is suppose to feel completely different (which it probably does) and amazing.  Over time, leg muscles learn to work together differently to stabilize and make use of the anatomy of your foot.  I (probably have some grandiose thinking here) believe that thanks to years of ballet, my feet will be strong and my body will adjust to these shoes quickly.  Even if they don’t, I’m excited for the challenge and experience.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 11 2010
marne

yay! my favorite part of running: for a few minutes, 15 minutes or an hour and 15 minutes, being completely released from everything we’re attached to all day (cell phone, work phone, texts, tv, news, etc etc etc) and just being alone in your head running around and looking at people and places and things. very therapeutic.

also i forgot to mention how proud i was of your warrior dash and also very jealous 🙂 looked fun! way to go!

15 11 2010
Pascale

Beautiful glow!

16 01 2011
PfMoen

Any new updates? Trying to run this winter?

Leave a Reply

