Setback

28 08 2010

(this should be dated 8-11-10 (I was just too pissed/annoyed to post anything for a while))*

I had my twice monthly measurements and found out I’d GAINED 2% body fat in two weeks.  I was pissed.

And confused.

I’d been working out and following my meal plan, 95% of the time.  It was obvious I was upset, my trainer asked me what was different in the past couple weeks.  Not much, it seemed.  I’d succumbed to my sugar craving a few times, but was really surprised that a few handfuls of Peanut M&Ms could make such a huge difference.  I’d guessed they were 100-150 calories, which is barely enough to make a diference (calorie-wise, at least).  Then he asked the important question – “WHEN?” Well, I usually fight my craving all day until I’m tired and give up… right before I go to bed! He didn’t need to spell it out for me – I was drastically upping my blood sugar and then lying down, giving my body all kinds of immediate energy with nothing to do. Which is when it gets stored as fat.  (this is part of the reason alcohol is so detrimental – lots of sugar at nighttime) (I’m learning that although calories are important, they are just one part of the puzzle. The fuel my body uses (and doesn’t use) is much more important – fats, protein and carbs, and when to consume these for my body to be most efficient)*

But I was still curious.  2% body fat is significant, and although I’d screwed up with the sugar, it still didn’t seem to add up.  Here is where I’m thankful it took me two weeks to finish this post – it didn’t occur to me at the time, but my temporary job ended the last week of July, which gave my body hours of downtime when it wasn’t active, whereas it had been before.  I’d also slacked a little in my off-day activities; bike rides, yoga, walking to the library or grocery store.  Each of these things is little, but added together made a significant difference.

I guess I’m glad I learned this lesson, but like many lessons learned, I wish I could have seen the light much earlier.

* parentheses within parentheses. It’s like math class!

Actions

Information

One response

15 11 2010
Pascale

Mystery solved! I remember that day that you were measured…phone conversation in the airport right?

Leave a Reply

