The name of the game is…

6 06 2010

I’ve recently come to the decision to try and loose weight (again) but this time I’m enlisting the help and support of my family and friends. Generally, in the past (read: failed attempts) I’ve tried to take this on pretty much alone. I’ve worked with trainers, planned diet meals with friends, been in therapy, but never really let more than one or two people actually know about the ins and out of daily life with regard to my body. My weight is probably the largest (ha!) and easiest issue to discuss, but there is so much more involved. Body image (at any size), self esteem, self worth, it’s all part of it. Whoa, that’s a lot. Freud would immediately schedule me for daily sessions.

When this idea was presented to my family, the response was “sure!” “but how do we know what’s up? You gonna write a blog or something?” Apparently I am. It really does seem like a simple way to keep track of my progress, to write about successes and struggles, to vent, and generally keep those who care about me informed. And I don’t have to send a mass email, they can read and respond as they wish here. Not sure yet what ‘angle’ I’ll write too – probably not too deeply personal, the world is not my therapist. But it’s next to impossible to write about weight loss without including a bit of how I got to this point, what I’m changing in my head, the thoughts that drive my current problem behaviors. I plan to keep the blog semi-anonymous. I know I’m not the only person who has these struggles, yet I don’t pretend to be sharing anyone’s experiences but my own. I just don’t think it’s necessary for strangers (if, by happenstance, strangers end up reading this) to know my name and address. Neither identity thieves!

Holy COW there are a lot of parentheseed (prob not a real word) words here… sorry if that annoys you, it will probably work itself out as I get more comfortable, get some thoughts straightened out, and generally get busy enough that I’m only posting brief updates. Or not. I really don’t know just yet! (update: it will not work itself out. I’ve decided to embrace my random stream of consciousness, and at the same time, came up with a blog name!)

Check back for progress, maybe recipes? or, at least meal ideas that I’ve used (or plan to use) and maybe a similar approach to workouts. Or book reviews – who knows?

Comments:
psurfalicious says:
I dig the complete title. Nice work.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

