Experimental Recipe

6 06 2010
Last week I wanted to try something new in the kitchen and worked from this recipe to make something that fit my needs. I used chicken sausage (the fat content is WAY lower than pork) and skipped the bacon. Also didn’t include the leek (forgot to buy it) and skipped the parmesan (thought I had some in the fridge, but didn’t.) Everything else was quite similar to the post above.

Don’t the veggies look so pretty rinsed and waiting to be chopped? ( I wonder how much “prettyness” is from the wax coating…)


While using my cast iron skillet, I kept perseverating that I might be doing it wrong. I’ve been using it for a few months and just recently realized I don’t cook with enough fat for it to work right (you’re supposed to be able to clean it with just a wipe of a paper towel, I was scrapping like crazy to remove stuck on food particles). I’m still trying to figure out a balance.


I mixed all the cooked ingredients together and filled the peppers. I bought just 4 peppers because they were HUGE, but still ended up with extra “stuffing.” So I just ate it in a bowl while waiting for everything to cook (then I was full and didn’t even try a baked pepper fresh from the oven! oh well. Good for me stopping when full.) (There was about two 3/4 cup to 1 cup servings of extra. It was GOOOOOD all on it’s own.)

This the final result! So pretty! They were quite good; ate them reheated for lunch at work for a few days. Very yummy, but after a few days, I wasn’t so happy. They probably would have been better prepared like the original recipe. This is what happens when you are single and make several servings of food, only to eat the same thing day after day. ohhhhhh well. such is life.

Comments:
  1. PfMoen says:
    June 5, 2010 3:43 PM

    Peppers are not my favorite but they look very good. The recipe sounds healthy, too. Keep up the good work!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

